Image

Thoughts from a balcony

20130202-094702.jpg

I am writing this with my feet up on a balcony in Shangri-La Mactan. In a few hours, one of my favorite cousins is getting married.* I hear the voices of laughing children in the pool below, and I can’t help but feel very blessed to be in this moment.

I am grateful to have a loving, supportive, and delightful family — there is never a dull moment at a family reunion like this one.

I am grateful to have a job that lets me work from anywhere (for as long as there is internet), because it allows me to travel. I am also paid to make stories, which is still a dream come true.

I am grateful to have friends that are as caring as they are brilliant, because it makes me want to come home and hang out with them as soon as possible.

I also can’t wait to get back to krav maga — another reason I don’t want to be away from Manila too long. (When did I become THAT person?) I am grateful to have found a hobby that I am passionate about that is also good for me.

When I am in the middle of the hustle and bustle of everyday city life, it’s easy to be stressed and unhappy. In a rare moment like this one, I want to remember all the good things I have been blessed with, and never take them for granted. Any moment, any of this can be taken away. Any moment now.

Thank you, Universe, and I hope to return all of this goodness by giving to those around me. Please kick me in the ass if I don’t.


*I have over 20 first cousins on my mother’s side. I love them all, but it’s impossible not to have favorites!

Leave a Reply

