Way Out West

I listen to music constantly – more than just background noise, it sets my mood. My choice of music can be crucial when I’m driving, or swamped with work (as is my current state).

But what I love about music is its ability to make me stop everything I’m doing, sit up, and say, “Shit. That’s amazing.”

Today, I’m trying to get through an impossibly long list of equally urgent tasks, when I suddenly sat up. I’m playing the Grey’s Anatomy soundtrack for Season 2, and the song that made me stop everything I’m doing is “Don’t Forget Me” by Way Out West.

My first reaction was, “Holy shit, that’s beautiful. That’s perfect.” My second reaction was, “Who the hell is Way Out West?” (The answer: A progressive house duo from England. I enjoy so much music from the UK that I wonder why I’m not there.)


“Don’t Forget Me” fits exactly in the little corner of music that I’ve made for myself in the past six months. I’ve been listening a lot to electronica, indie pop, anything textured, dreamy, and usually powerful. (I was previously into Au Revoir Simone, Radio Dept, Whitest Boy Alive, Bloc Party, etc.) I always like music for the music first, and the lyrics second, but both are equally important to me. After I notice how it sounds like, I look up the lyrics, and if I don’t like them, then my emotions switch off and the attachment to the song disappears. I’ve shrugged off a lot of songs that way.

And what do you know, the lyrics are perfect 😉

There’s just one thing that I need to say
Before I close my eyes and walk away
There’s just one thing that I need to feel
Before I walk away against my will
There’s just one thing that I need to hear
Before I walk away for the last time
There’s just one thing that I need to see
Before I take this chance and set us free
Don’t forget me
Don’t regret me
Don’t suspect me
Don’t neglect me
The memory of this still reminds me of you
And that is where you’ll find me
Stars in your eyes
Did you take the time to realize
Can you count the stars in your eyes?
Did you take the time to realize
There’s just one thing that I need to say
Before I close my eyeas and walk away
There’s just one thing that I need to feel
Before I walk away against my will
Don’t forget me
Don’t regret me
The memory of this still reminds me of you
Don’t suspect me
The memory of this still reminds me
Don’t neglect me
The memory of this still reminds me of you
The memory of this still reminds me
Stars in your eyes
Did you take the time to realize?

Website: Way Out West
Wiki: Way Out West
Lyrics: “Don’t Forget Me”

3 thoughts on “Way Out West

  1. eve says:

    thank u sooooooooo much i have been looking for the name and the lyrics of this song ever since i heard it on Gery’s its been driving me crazy.thank u so much for the lyrics.

Leave a Reply

