GDC2007, San Francisco

I’m not in a coherent-enough state to write a brilliant travel piece on San Francisco, or a smart developer’s perspective on the Game Developers Conference. I’m at a 24-hour Starbucks, sitting on a ledge, trying not to fall asleep so I can answer some work e-mail.

What I _can_ tell you, though, is:

  • GDC is awesome. Tiring as shit, and I’ve never been so terrified in my life, but I’ve also never met (and never would have met) the people I did if I weren’t at GDC. Awe-some.
  • Jetlag is very bad for business. Doubleshot espresso doesn’t do shit. (And they don’t make it here fresh, at least not iced shaken, unlike back home.)
  • I just spent $120 on CDs at Rasputin, which is on the next block from my hotel. If I had known this geographical fact in advance, I would have brought more money.
  • I’ve met people from Microsoft (and they’re reading this, I think ;), Sony (HAHAHAHA that’s what you get for reading my blog), EA, and a lot of other companies I can’t mention; I’ve also met Americans, Germans, Swedes, Indians, Frenchmen, Canadians, Koreans, Chinese, and more.
  • I have lots of embarrassing moments, some bad ones, but mostly good ones. Maybe 75% good ones, which is not a bad number at all.
  • Chris Avellone is still a hero of mine after two years, and if he reads this, then I will die of shame.

There’s lots more to say but I’ll say them when I can think clearly, which is probably in a couple of days. Cheers everybody!

6 thoughts on “GDC2007, San Francisco

  1. Congratulations on the successful sojourn! πŸ˜€

    I envy your experiences, but in a good way. πŸ˜‰ I’m glad you had the chance to go to GDC this year.

  2. Ray says:

    Hahaha. Yes, I am guilty as charged for reading your blog, and that’s what I probably deserve πŸ˜›

    “I’ve also met Americans, Germans, Swedes, Indians, Frenchmen, Canadians, Koreans, Chinese, and more”
    -> What’s up with that? So I guess I am ‘and more’? πŸ™‚

    It was great hanging out with you, Luna. Hope to see you in rainy Seattle sometime!
    (bring sneakers! bring trenchcoat! bring not-as-cute-but-actually-cold-proof jacket, if you will! :D)

  3. moongirl says:

    Quinnzap: Thanks! And yeah, vicarious, as you said πŸ˜‰ Zzzzz

    Ray: WHAT THE HECK! Raymond! Didn’t you just arrive or something? πŸ˜›

    And yeah I thought about putting “Indonesian” but I’m thinking as you’ve been in the US for a while, technically you’re an American, as I was sort of listing company location rather than nationality based on birth.

    Seriously, I didn’t forget πŸ˜‰

  4. Like I said, I hate you. hahahahahahahahahahahaha. It’s great that you got to experience all that. πŸ™‚

    $120 on CDs omfg!!! That’s a DS lite almost. speaking of which…buy one! HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

  5. moongirl says:

    Yes Ryan, OMFG indeed. And no I won’t buy a DS Lite, as I obviously can’t afford much else at the moment πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

