…And some personal stories

(From now on, I’ll be posting personal stories with black and white phone pics. For drama. Mwahaha. Anyway, if you’re not used to my personal posts, these might bore you a bit.)

That's me waiting at the airport loungeI almost didn’t make it to San Francisco – our travel agent forgot to confirm my seat, and so I was on the waiting list until 45 minutes before boarding. If this had happened to me a year ago, I’d have freaked out. Instead, I sat quietly in the Philippine Airlines Customer Relations Office lounge (which was very nice), took deep breaths, and prayed to whatever god was listening at the moment. (I was heard, as I got on the plane ๐Ÿ˜‰

Driving away from San Francisco

(I have lots of personal GDC stories but I won’t put them here, as I don’t have pics to accompany them.)

Walking around San Francisco by myself was both terrifying and thrillingย – which is why I loved doing it so much. I was sad when GDC was over – there were suddenly no people to meet and greet, no noisy buzz of gamespeak on the streets. Driving away from San Francisco, I sat in my sister’s car deep in thought.

My nephew Then I finally got to meet my nephew! Of course, he didn’t really get to meet me, as he was asleep. That’s him – what a cute little bundle of joy ๐Ÿ™‚ I told my sister, “That came out of you!!!” and she said, “I know!!!”

ย I’m very happy for my sister, and at the same time I realized I definitely don’t want to be a mom yet. It’s not something I aspire to be at the moment. (I should fix my _own_ life first before being responsible for someone else’s.)

Dog.Before the baby came along, my sister’s baby was a Golden Retriever that scared me to death two years ago. Now I got to hug her and play with her. I’ve conquered my fear about a lot of things, I think – or, I still feel afraid, but I do things anyway. Even if (or especially if) they terrify me.

And a lot of my traveling alone has to do with that – facing the unknown head-on. It’s great!

Banny

Now I’m in Upland, and today we went to the park with my cousin’s rabbit. (The picture on the left isn’t that rabbit – that’s a poster of a rabbit in a pet store. The pet stores here are entire STRUCTURES full of stuff. It’s crazy. Do pets really care that they get designer brands of bedding or hay?) I took great pictures of my cousin’s creatures, and will post those within the week.

So if you guys are wondering how I am – I’m fine ๐Ÿ˜‰ Still jetlagging, a bit dazed from the tiring GDC, and trying not to gain weight.

6 thoughts on “…And some personal stories

Leave a Reply

