In the mood for love

I’m not one to contemplate during Lent, if only because I contemplate every day anyway. The only difference is that in Holy Week, I have more time to contemplate, because of the absence of work.

In The Mood For LoveToday was incredibly productive – I did some spring cleaning, backed up files, played some Final Fantasy XII, read some Watership Down, and – most contemplatively – watched In The Mood For Love. I’ve seen this maybe twice before, but not recently, and again I chided myself for forgetting that Wong Kar Wai was my favorite director. There’s really no doubt about it. (Previously, if anyone asked me who my favorite director was, I’d have answered Darren Aronofsky. I love Aronofsky, but WKW beats him by a mile.)

ITMFL isn’t my fave film of his (that goes to Chungking Express), but I was amazed at how much I loved this film more now that I’m older. WKW’s style – slow, unhurried storytelling, and a high attention to little details of life – kind of mirrors the way my brain works. I have a really bad memory and cannot recount exact events, but I can remember still images, usually details, little things that don’t add up but are beautiful nonetheless. You’d think that with my fast-paced lifestyle, I’d like directors who like things fast – say, Steven Soderbergh, or Aronofskyย – and though that’s how I live my life,ย that’s not how I feel things. Feelings tend to creep up on me slowly and intensely. That’s what WKW does – he hits you where it hurts, and he does it gently, letting you experience life a bit uncertain as to what you’re doing. That’s what goes on behind my packed appointment books and busy IM status messages. I’m always feeling something, contemplating something, with repetitive emotional music playing at the back of my head.

Or maybe I’m just in the mood for love ๐Ÿ˜‰

12 thoughts on “In the mood for love

  1. It’s great that you’ve rediscovered Wong Kar Wai’s narrative impact in a way that mirrors your own perception of things.

    There’s real merit in revisiting things past (like movies seen before) as an older, more experienced individual. We come across new beauty, power and meaning as if they had always been there, just waiting for us to be ready to recognize them.

  2. you’re just in the mood for love. What’s uuuuuuuuuup? I have never watched Chungking express, but have always wanted to. Have you watched Watership Down? It’s pretty Brutal, but an interesting watch nevertheless. I wanted to watch the fountain but could never find anyone willing to submit themselves to the movie. Ah well, such is life.

    In the mooooood for looooooooooove! YIHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE! UUUUUUUUUUY! YIHEEEEEEE!

    I am totally SUCH a girl.

  3. moongirl says:

    Quinnzap: Exactly. It also means I should rewatch as many things as possible. Things like “Singles” and “Reality Bites” were not meant to be seen in high school ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Ryan: Yes, you are _such_ a girl. I haven’t seen Watership Down but the book itself is brutal. I watched The Fountain alone because I figured no one would want to, as well ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

