Fitness First yoga upgrade by the end of the year!

This morning, our yoga teacher gave us awesome news – Fitness First is developing its yoga program into three new types of classes. By the end of the year, *all* FF branches will have Bikram Yoga (where the room is heated), Ashtanga Yoga, and yoga for relaxation.

I’m so happy I never canceled my FF membership. Their Athletic Yoga and Body Balance classes are the only things I attend. I don’t even use their machines anymore, hahaha.

Now I just have to pray that the new office we move into has a FF branch nearby; otherwise I will be very, very sad.


The Sunday morning Athletic Yoga class is turning out to be my favorite. I’m always genuinely tired but happy afterwards. Our teacher is a strong, cheerful woman who seems to genuinely care about yoga and her students.

Being an achiever, it’s pretty hard for me to be in a room full of advanced yogis who can convolute their bodies any which way. Several times in the past, I’ve tried to do more advanced poses only to hurt myself. But recently I’ve come to terms with the fact that I’m just not as good. So today, when our teacher reminded us to respect our own levels, I comfortably sat it out through a few poses. I still make it a point to go beyond my comfort zone, though if I go too far I feel genuine fear and then step back. Fear is something I still need to conquer.

As for today, I was able to do Shoulderstand, but was too afraid to let go into Plow Pose. Maybe next week.

3 thoughts on “Fitness First yoga upgrade by the end of the year!

  1. Paul says:

    Haha, two Saturdays ago, my yogi told me to try doing Plow Pose. Just as I thought I would topple over and break my neck, my toes touched the floor. Woo-hoo!

    You’ll love it, I swear.

    Tell me how Bikram Yoga goes!

  2. moongirl says:

    Marvin: LOL!

    Paul: I’m afraid to do it alone. Maybe when you and I have that yoga session, you can teach me 😉

Leave a Reply

