I am a Fatal Posporos fangirl

Fatal PosporosLast night I went to Admit One to watch the Fatal Posporos reunion gig. I’m a fangirl, but not in the traditional sense. I first saw Fatal perform way back in high school, but I wasn’t a band person then, so I didn’t follow them or their songs. True fandom happened when Ely Buendia left the Eraserheads and Kris, Fatal’s vocalist, was asked to replace him. Fatal’s drummer Annette then gave me copies of their songs and asked me to study them just in case they needed a vocalist at the last minute.

I was young and definitely not singer material (this was before I became a vocalist for my own bands), but I did sit down and study the songs for a couple of days, until I was told that there was no need for an understudy. (Thank God! I’m not awesome enough to be a Posporo.) But the great bit about this is that I became a fan. How could I not? Fatal’s music is catchy, clever, and fun. There’s no way you can not like them, after you’ve heard them. (If you haven’t heard them, check out the YouTube links at the bottom of this post.)

Annette of Fatal PosporosSo last night, I went to Saguijo (after 11 months) to watch Annette, Kris, and Donna (bassist) rock it on. And it was awesome! I danced and sang along with the crowd to “Pudgy” and “Lovebus”, and felt a pleasant wave of nostalgia when I heard “Not Now” and “Sili Song”. It felt great to go to a gig as a fan and enjoy the music (not go to a gig because I had to play, and therefore was stressing out instead of just listening). Fatal was just as good (if not better) as I remembered, and my officemate Kim and I immediately went out and bought band shirts (a great consumerist phenomenon, band shirts, and one I wholeheartedly embrace).

It was also nice to reappear in the gig scene after 11 months and be greeted by people who still remembered who I was – Vin (Twisted Halo*), Jason (Pedicab), Echo (Boldstar), Donna and Mike (Musings of a Cigarette-Smoking Man), and Quark (Blast Ople). My ex-bandmates Joon (Musings) and Mikah (Helen) were there as well. And of course, Annette, who somehow ended up being my friend and we’d meet up whenever I was in the US, so it was nice to see her play live. So partly for her and partly for me and my fangirl memories, I’m glad I went to the Fatal Posporos reunion gig, and I’m damn sorry that the band isn’t together anymore.

Plus, all of this reinforced my desire to have a band again. Whee!

Videos:
Fatal Posporos – Not Now
Fatal Posporos – Sili Song 

*I should probably put Peryodiko instead of Twisted Halo, but I’m a huge Halo fangirl too, so there.

PS Hmm, this post isn’t as coherent as I’d like, but then again, I’m a bit hung over.

6 thoughts on “I am a Fatal Posporos fangirl

  1. FATAL POSPOROS is a great band, for me. After years and years of music listening, ending up on one or six of their songs playing on my head becomes the momentum in my life. Their musicality transcends every living atmosphere in this world.

  2. nookie says:

    this girls are so cool and unique i wonder why they didn’t make another album? by the way can u tell me n title of there song… it goese like this makikipag break, break ako… masusuot ko na ang aking gusto. wala na akong tatawagan sa telepono… yeah.. hehehe…. Ive been try to download it 2yrs ago and i cant still find it Ive just heard it on N.U i saw them perform on the fort when i was on high school on N.U alternativity so could u email me the song title and there other song. thank’s and i hope you’ll reply soon.:)

  3. moongirl says:

    Nookie: Hi! Wow it’s awesome that there are still Fatal Posporos fans nowadays 🙂

    Anyway, the name of the song is “Cocoboy Goodnight”. If you wanna check out their drummer Annette’s cover of the song, it’s here. Enjoy! 🙂

    • poetikaye says:

      hey luna. former officemate mo ako sa fbm software. I asked you before kung may album ka ng fatal posporos. sabi mo bibigyan mo ako. haha. anyway, i’m downloading it now sa torrent. wala lang. bigla ko lang naalala today ang fatal posporos at pagcheck ko sa google, isa itong website mo sa lumabas. ako pala ay taga techsup ng fbm before.

  4. moongirl says:

    Poetikaye: Hi! Waaah sorry, I don’t even know where mine are, hehe. That album is super hard to find. But I still love them 🙂

Leave a Reply

