Bona Coffee Alabang

I am writing this post from Bona Coffee‘s newest branch in Westgate, Alabang. Westgate is a small group of nice restaurants and shops along Alabang-Zapote Road, just past Alabang Town Center. Bona Coffee, if you know me at all, is my favorite coffee shop ever.

Bona’s management and baristas have been telling me about their Westgate plans since late 2007; they knew this was closer to where I lived so I was probably as excited as them for their second branch. It finally opened this month, and when I first stepped in, I promptly said: “Wooooooow!” out loud and proceeded to check every nook and cranny.

This Bona branch is much bigger and much more airy than their BF home. There are tables and chairs outside, more of their fuzzy bright orange chairs, and a large bar area. (You know the little bar they have in Starbucks Greenbelt 3, near the baristas, where solo people are forced to cramp-sit? Well, Bona Alabang is built both for the solo coffee-goer and the pair or group. There is space aplenty for everyone.)

This is why I love Bona – they understand what coffee lovers want. We want someplace cozy, where we can curl up with a good book or bring our laptop and work. There is still free WiFi here, and the music is soothing but never loud. And they understand that we want good coffee and good food – none of the generic commercial crap! For instance, today I walked in, said hi to the baristas (who not only know me by name, they also know where I like to sit), and said, “I want really strong coffee today.”

Immediately, they ticked off numerous suggestions – would I like an espresso shot with whipped cream? Diluted in hot water? Or (aha!) a Full Moon Latte, with doubleshot espresso, and (double aha!) caramel instead of hazelnut, just for me?

I swear to God, this is one of my favorite places in the world. It’s not as cozy or private as their BF branch is, but it’s not out of the way either, and I know it just needs breaking in. So I’ll do it! 😀

3 thoughts on “Bona Coffee Alabang

  1. moongirl says:

    Mia: Well, Starbucks prices, maybe a little bit higher. They make up for it with healthy food/drinks and free WiFi 😉

Leave a Reply

