Two lists (part 1 of 2)

My mom has been in the hospital for three weeks now, and most of that time I have been checked in with her 24/7 or (recently) catching some zzz’s at a nearby hotel. Though she is still in the hospital, the worst is over. I won’t be writing about the nightmare moments that I’ve had (although I am tempted to write a book on the subject). Instead I’d like to post two short lists that I’ve had in my head since all this started. Both are all completely selfish lists, as I’m sure my dad will write real, meaningful lists in his column when this is all done.

#1: Luna’s List of Thanks

I’d like to thank the following people for getting me through this ordeal.

Thank you to the pogi* resident who gave me and my mom something to smile about. It is too bad you are married.

Thank you to the very nice nurses on the 6th floor who would wave to me as I passed by. I hope you enjoyed the chocolate cakes!

Thank you to my high school friends, especially Josella, whom I had not seen in several years, and who refused to attend any dinners or birthdays – but she got 9 out of 10 of us together in the hospital, which has not happened since our graduation almost ten years ago!

Thank you also to Carla, who donated blood when we needed it, and recommended the chicken skin at the in-hospital restaurant – it was SO GOOD.

Thank you to the waiters in that restaurant who were very nice to me and always gave me my cafe mocha light, which kept me alive.

Thank you to Dante, who lent me his PSP and gave me something to do for hours at a time.

Thank you to Fawie, for giving me crossword puzzles.

Thank you to Frances, for helping me and my family move into the ICU, and proceeded to explain all the numbers in the monitoring machines like a real doctor!

Thank you to all my friends who recommended doctors when we needed them. Because of you, I have compiled probably the best list of gastroenterologists across Metro Manila.

Thank you to everyone who has been sending prayers, positive vibes, and hugs my way. I love you all.

Thank you to my previous boss for letting me go early, because that allowed me to check in with my mom. Thank you also to my future boss for telling me I could take as much time as I wanted, because family is more important than games.

Lastly, thank you to one of my ex-boyfriends, because if he hadn’t left creepy missed calls at my house number, I would not have been sure the phone was working – so my dad was able to call the house in the middle of the night to wake me up and tell me my mom had renal failure and I drove back to the hospital straightaway. If there is anything this experience has taught me, it’s that life doesn’t turn out the way you planned it, but eventually it all makes sense somehow.

I’ll post the second list next time. Cheers!


*Pogi means handsome.

3 thoughts on “Two lists (part 1 of 2)

  1. “… life doesn’t turn out the way you planned it, but eventually it all makes sense somehow.”

    True, that. *hug* Be strong, dear. Your mom will pull through this, as will you.

  2. Pingback: June « moongirl

Leave a Reply

