Death Cab For Cutie, here I come!

I’m sick with an infectious bug, and should be lying down and resting, but I’m too excited – because at 9:00 am today, I purchased tickets to see my favorite band Death Cab For Cutie live in Singapore on August 12.

If I remember it right, the first time I heard DCFC was in 2003 – my musician friend Mikah recommended them, so I picked up a copy of Transatlanticism while I was in the U.S. Trans is still one of my favorite albums of all time; it encapsulates what I love best about DCFC – simple songs of love and sadness, hidden behind this kind of geeky ordinary-looking band. Both their lyrics and musical arrangements are clever without being verbose or showy. Their songs are the type to slip past you if you’re not paying attention. If you’re a romantic like me, you’re always paying attention 😉

If I had to choose one favorite song of theirs (at gunpoint, maybe), I’d choose this one:

It’s called “Title and Registration”, off the Trans album. “There’s no blame for how our love did slowly fade / And now it’s gone – it’s like it wasn’t there at all / Here I rest where disappointment and regret collide, lying awake at night…”

12 thoughts on “Death Cab For Cutie, here I come!

  1. Congrats. I am sure they would put on an absolutely amazing show. I can’t wait to see them as well. Checked the link out, tickets are quite expensive, roughly £ 54. The ones at Brixton cost around 17.50 plus booking fee. Anyway, no price is too high to see your favorite band. Enjoy!

  2. Im gonna get those tickets by force (that is if we meet and see each other so better protect that ticket. hahaha!)

    have fun at the concert (*weeps in my room while trying to be emo*)

    seriously, enjoy the concert pownee!

  3. moongirl says:

    stingeyes: Yeah, everything in Singapore is expensive! 😦 And concerts in this region in general, I think. Plus if you count the plane tickets… but then again, when will this happen again? 😀

    mikester: Thanks dude! Gusto mo itago kita sa bagahe? Hahaha

  4. wow it’s actually kinda cool how many people are flying over from the Philippines just to see them. see you there, maybe 🙂

  5. Hi,

    Would you know of anyone who has a ticket to spare? Money is not a problem. I’ve been a huge follower of Ben Gibbard’s music since his Postal Service Days and been searching like a mad man for a ticket (that’s the last time I leave something for the last minute!)

  6. moongirl says:

    Hi,

    Oh no! I have no idea – sorry! Maybe someone’s selling a ticket on Ebay or something? Does SISTIC say it’s sold out?

  7. sk says:

    hi. i typed ‘death cab for cutie’ and i got to your blog. i can’t wait for their gig in a few days time.

    and my fave song is title and registration too!

    😀

Leave a Reply

