Bona Members’ Night (July 31, 2008)

Bona

“How many here know what’s going to happen tonight?” Miren said into the microphone. “Except for Luna, who is one of our most faithful members. She’s here every day.”

Such began a night of glorious fun and embarrassment as I attended my first Bona Members’ Night. I _did_ know what was about to happen, but I still wasn’t prepared for it. From the moment I got out of the car, I was completely overwhelmed – there were lights, bouncers, nametags and registration, people I didn’t know greeting me at the door and saying, “Ooooh, so YOU’RE Luna? The one who wrote that letter about Starbucks and Bona? You’re famous here!”

ShotsWaiting for my friends to arrive, I sat at my usual place. Gradually, more faithful members came, and then the festivities began. There were free drinks and cookies, free shots of three mystery drinks, a raffle, and an impromptu open-mic-slash-poetry-reading for non-member walk-ins who wanted membership at 50% off. (And amazingly enough, three people performed!)

I felt bad that the rain that afternoon had really screwed up the traffic, so the place wasn’t as full as I thought it would be. But the people that did arrive were really fans of Bona. The staff knew all of the regulars by name, and would announce them as they entered. I, however, was the favorite member to get picked on – but I didn’t mind it one bit. I loved this place and was obviously not afraid to show it 😉

Chalkboard voting 2Brian, the manager, actually ended the program by saying: “Thanks to Luna!” and I hid my face in my hands again. But I thanked him for throwing such a great event. And I’m thankful too that so many of my friends came – from the north, too! And they ALL loved whatever they tried. (I did receive the usual “Ms. Luna, you’re taking over our jobs” joke from the baristas, when I proceeded to recommend drinks for each one of my friends. I also particularly liked the “we should build a cubicle for you, since this is your office” line :P)

Thanks, Bona – I had loads of fun! I am also so full of caffeine that I can’t sleep, hahahahaha 😛

PS I did notice one thing, and it’s probably weird to mention it here, but there was one barista missing from the lineup tonight. After Brian, he was the second person from Bona that I met last year, and really helped me get to know the place and feel at home there. Come to think of it, I haven’t seen him in Bona in maybe a month? I’m not sure what happened, but since apparently the entire Bona staff reads my blog anyway – please tell him I said hi, will you? 😉

(All my Bona Members’ Night pics are here.)

9 thoughts on “Bona Members’ Night (July 31, 2008)

  1. hey there Luna! (THE famous LUNA) haha. i’m the birthday girl. haha. i saw you a while ago taking pictures, I was with my friend Jayvee and Phoebe… It was actually Jayvee who told me THAT’S LUNA and you work for the gaming industry or something. I’ve been reading your blog even before it was linked in the BNCC blog, i googled BoNa before and your blog was in the search results. Like you, I’m a very faithful BoNa-fide member… I haven’t been to Starbucks for sometime, its always BoNa-BoNa… I LOVE BONA! hehe.

    I think you’re talking about Christian… =)

    See you at the next BoNa event! cheers!

  2. moongirl says:

    Oh wow this is awesome! Nice to meet you! And happy birthday 🙂 I like your site too – any Bona fan is a friend of mine 😀

    And yeah I am, though I was trying not to put his name so I wouldn’t embarrass him. Hahaha!

    See you at Bona! 🙂

  3. joanna from dlsu says:

    hi luna! how are you? read about bona from southbound.ph a few months ago and i’ve been wanting to go there since. great blog! 🙂

  4. moongirl says:

    Joanna: Uy wow hello! 🙂 You should totally go there, it’s awesome! Great place to study in too. Have you graduated already?

  5. Miren Gonzalez says:

    Hey BoNa lovers! Wala na, nothing you can do about it, Luna, you’re famous already! Hahaha.

    It’s awesome you guys love BoNa. It really is a great place. I love it there, too!

    Luna, we should get together sometime as we’re NEIGHBORS. See you at BoNa soon!

  6. moongirl says:

    Miren: Haha oo nga, nothing I can do about it. I’m sure I’ll see you soon 😛

    Kat: Nice to meet you! Thanks for passing by 🙂

Leave a Reply

