RIP LeRoi Moore

I can’t believe that we would lie in our graves, wondering if we had spent our living days well.

The Dave Matthews Band was my first favorite band. They’re the reason I picked up the guitar in high school, and why I started playing in bands in college. (I joined my first band, Mr. JiL, because they were actually looking for a guitarist that could play DMB songs. “Jimi Thing” was my audition song, and I’m still proud that we played “Warehouse” to a big crowd in 2000.)

I saw DMB live in San Francisco in 2001 and loved every minute of it. The only recorded music I’ve ever done was a cover of “#41”, in which I sang and played guitar, and to this day it remains my favorite song of all time. (The last time I performed it was for my mom during her 60th birthday.)

My good friend and fellow fan Paul just informed me that DMB’s saxophonist, LeRoi Moore, has passed away. We will miss you.

2 thoughts on “RIP LeRoi Moore

Leave a comment