You can never go home again

I saw both The X-Files 2: I Want To Believe and Star Wars: The Clone Wars recently, and the cliche “You can never go home again” rings true for a twenty-something fan like me. I was a huge X-Files fan back in the day (in high school, people called me Scully instead of my name – including teachers), and it’s what got me interested in screenwriting and the Internet. But I Want To Believe doesn’t compare in the least to the intelligence and mastercraft of old XF episodes like “Bad Blood” or “Clyde Bruckman’s Final Repose”.

Similarly, I am teased by my students for being a Star Wars geek, and using it a lot in my examples for story. But in the first two minutes of Clone Wars I quickly saw its repackaged, new-music-no-textscroll approach – and the best parts of the film didn’t fill me with nearly as much wonder or laughter as any part of The Empire Strikes Back.

‘Course, even with bad reviews the fans still watched both films – and I was just another box office ticket. Maybe to Hollywood, that’s all that matters 😉

One thought on “You can never go home again

  1. Pingback: Wall-E « moongirl

Leave a Reply

