Going green

A few months ago I ordered a reusable bag from Biome Living, an Australian eco-friendly store. The reusable shopping bag folds up neatly into a pouch, and is meant to replace shopping bags like paper or plastic. I meant it to be a travel bag in Singapore, and it was incredibly useful – I could stash all my shopping loot in the bag and wear it, as opposed to commuting with so many bags hanging from my hands.

When I got back to the Philippines, I tried it in the neighborhood mall – I went shopping, and instead of receiving all my purchases in plastic bags, I asked the salesladies to give me the products (unwrapped) straight into my reusable bag. All of them obliged; many of them were surprised; but one of them said, “Good for you ma’am, you’re helping the environment.”

Which got me to thinking about purchasing these:

Reusable Bags

I saw them on Amazon. They’re a different brand, but they come in packs of three. I asked my mom if she’d be willing to use these instead of plastic bags when she went to the grocery, and she agreed. The catch is that you can’t choose multiple colors for a pack, and I like colors. So I was thinking.

If I ordered a bunch of these, in different colors, and sold the extra ones at P400 each, would anyone buy them? Would you? Would you be willing to go green with me? I’m not the type to buy and sell, but if I ever wanted to sell something to others, it would be something like this. (There are more colors here, if you’d like more choices.)

12 thoughts on “Going green

  1. Are these not yet common in the Philippines? In Canada they have them in just about every grocery/department store, and they are usually about a dollar each. Some stores offer discounts for using these bags instead of plastic. In answer to your question, if I did not already have so many of these, I would definitely go green with you πŸ™‚ But good luck, its a great idea to introduce these bags to your friends and family, and I hope you’re able to make a difference this way πŸ™‚

  2. moongirl says:

    Hi dosomegreen πŸ™‚

    I don’t think they’re that common here. A friend told me a specialty bookstore sold some, but I haven’t been able to find any. Some stores have cloth-type shopping bags for sale but I’ve seen very few people use them. And our groceries are chock-full of plastic bags 😐 We are not very eco-conscious here the way other countries are. There is no effort from businesses and services to go paperless. And while households like ours reuse plastic bags as much as they can, there’s just _so much_. It’s these same plastic bags that clog up our canals and litter our streets.

    I’m not a huge advocate by any means (unlike you – good luck with the site!) but I am hoping little actions can help a little bit.

  3. Go green!

    I would. They certainly look better than the bags I reuse everyday since the supermarket closest to work refuses to give out plastic bags anymore. Then again, shipping them over here wouldn’t so green. πŸ˜€

    Anyway, what are they called exactly as I am unable to find them on the UK Amazon store?

  4. PS3Fanboy says:

    hmmm great idea. Hope some major groceries here implement the same thing. One of my habit is to just return the plastic to the store if I’m buying one or two small items (or at the very least, I request brown paperbags).

  5. Hello
    I’d like to take a moment of your time to re-introduce http://www.whatsurbag-usa.com , the company that designs and manufactures its-laS-tik: the only fashionable, flexible AND socially responsible reusable shopping bag on the market.

    its-laS-tik bags are FASHIONABLE: They come in a variety of the hottest colors and patterns and follow the global fashion trends.
    its-laS-tik bags are FLEXIBLE: They stretch and bounce eliminating stress on your shoulders, arms and back while holding twice the amount of groceries as a plastic or paper bag. And they feel light as a feather.
    its-laS-tik bags are SOCIALLY RESPONSIBLE: They are made in New Orleans in a factory ravaged by Hurricane Katrina and rebuilt by survivors. 5% of profit goes to Hope House, a non- profit organization in New Orleans that assists the homeless, and what’S ur bag partners with Hope House to recycle the bags in a program that helps the underpriveleged and the environment.

    its-laS-tik bags can be branded with a company logo sold as is or used as a fundraising item for your organization.

    Please visit the following link for our Fall/Winter 2008 Product Catalog
    http://www.pagegangster.com/p/BPOn4/

    Best regards,

    Joan Elmore Nutting
    whatΓ―ΒΏΒ½S ur bag
    joaneelmore@whatsurbag-usa.com
    P: 732 204 2113 or Cell 848 218 0726
    http://www.whatsurbag-usa.com
    *Official bag of the Google Zeitgeist 2008 Partner Forum

  6. Hey, Luna! I also try to use reuseable bags as much as possible. Shopwise’s bag is great because it’s big and it’s really sturdy. SM Supermarket’s reusable bag, unfortunately, has a narrow design which makes it unusable for really big items, and it’s not as well-made as Shopwise’s. I used a bag once and when I got home, I find the stitches near the handle becoming undone.

    If you’re gonna push through with the bags from Amazon, I’d go with the Black and the Navy Stripe ones because I’d buy those from you. πŸ˜€

  7. moongirl says:

    Simon: Here’s the link πŸ™‚

    PS3 Fanboy: Yeah, good for you. I’m glad you opt to use your own bag πŸ™‚ If only more people were like that hahaha

    Joan: Wow! I looked at your site and your bags look awesome! πŸ˜€ I definitely want one, though at the moment I can’t afford it (LOL). But I’ve made up my mind to get one once I can. Good luck!

    Patrick: Uy hey! Yeah darn maybe I should go to Shopwise instead. I go to Makati Supermarket because it’s the nearest one. And I am listing down the suggestions, because I don’t want to order anything that nobody would buy πŸ˜›

  8. Rustan’s also has it’s own bag I believe, with discounts of you use it or something like that. I’d buy it if I did enough groceries for it to matter.

Leave a Reply

