Save SomaFM

SomaFM independent internet radio

Gone are the days when I had gigabytes of MP3s in my hard drive. Since I started working from home, I’ve been listening to SomaFM14 unique channels of listener-supported, commercial-free, underground/alternative radio broadcasting from San Francisco. That means it is 100% good music – no commercials, no talkative DJs, and practically no bad song choices. Also, it is completely free.

I used to listen to the Indie Pop Rocks station years ago, but now my favorites are:

  • Lush: Sensuous and mellow vocals, mostly female, with an electronic influence.
  • Digitalis: Digitally affected analog rock with a DIY mentality. Screengazers encouraged.
  • Beat Blender: A late night blend of deep-house and downtempo chill.

But today, when I went to choose a station, I got greeted by some bad news: SomaFM is badly in debt, and they need listener support. I’ve spent so much already this month, and I wasn’t planning to spend any more – but if I can spend several grand on my Halloween costume, I can definitely shell out $50 for my favorite Internet radio station. So I did. (And I’ll get a nice shirt along with it.)

If you’ve ever enjoyed SomaFM, please consider donating by clicking on the link below:

Save SomaFM

You can donate from $1 to whatever amount you like. Thanks! Don’t stop the signal!

One thought on “Save SomaFM

Leave a Reply

