My first game with Boomzap is out

A story screen from Orchard

When I joined Boomzap last year, my first task was to write a story for a game they were developing. It was called Orchard, a farming sim game to be published by Majesco. When I got in, a few levels and the basic gameplay were finished, so I was asked to write the story, name all the characters and locations, do the tutorial and all the in-game text, etc.

This is what I LOVE TO DO. I had a blast doing it. We were a small team and we put a whole lot of indie love into it. And it was one of those games that I didn’t mind playing over and over again (as one has to do, when you get to testing), because it was a cute little game, and I was proud.

Orchard just came out on Big Fish Games yesterday, and I felt kilig* when I saw my name on the credits. I’ve had my name on games before, but… Well, you’ll see. It’s a sweet little game, and I hope you like it πŸ™‚


* A Filipino word for joy, but something more physical… like the feeling that you get when your crush asks you out, or your boyfriend surprises you with a dozen roses, or your name gets listed in a casual game on Big Fish.

5 thoughts on “My first game with Boomzap is out

  1. jensen says:

    Congratulations πŸ˜€

    I can’t wait to try out the game when I get home. I’m reading this from work, and I’ve got to say you have a truly amazing job.

    More power! πŸ˜›

  2. Congratulations as well!

    I am envious and annoyed but immensely proud of you at the same time. Sometimes I wonder if I’m better off writing than drawing. I used to dream of writing the flavor text for Magic cards. πŸ˜›

  3. Congrats!!

    I hope I can try it…I don’t think I’ll be able to pay for it though. So maybe just a trial *frowns*

    That sounds so much fun! i hope I can do something like that

  4. moongirl says:

    @Jensen, Minaru: Thanks, students! =) I hope to see a game of yours someday, too!

    @Ryan: “Envious and annoyed”? Fool! You’re just as game developer-y as I am!

    @mikester: Thanks! Same to you – never say die πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

