My Star Trek (no spoilers)

Chris Pine

My parents are Trekkies. They don’t attend conventions or anything like that, but they loved the Original Series, and my dad taught a science fiction class at the University of Maryland that only discussed Star Trek, week after week. (This was before I was born, and supposedly the class was packed!) I became a fan on my own – I grew up watching Star Trek: The Next Generation; Picard and Data were my Kirk and Spock, and Wesley Crusher was my obligatory nerdy crush. I watched all the TNG movies and could recite the opening spiel by heart, and was so loyal to this particular crew that I didn’t watch any of the succeeding series (Voyager, etc), considering them spin-offs of “my Star Trek”.

When J.J. AbramsStar Trek came along, I was at once excited and detached. I had no expectations, not being a particular fan of Abrams (I followed some of Alias, never watched Lost, liked Mission: Impossible III – basically I knew he was good, but for the most part kept him out of my life). But my excitement caused me to purchase premiere tickets so I could watch it two nights before anyone else. (Anyone except my Trekkie friends, who of course had seen it first, and were there at the premiere in full costume.)

I'm not in costume, but I AM holding a Captain Kirk action figure

I'm not in costume, but I AM holding a Captain Kirk action figure.

When I came out of the theater, I was, as described by one of the Trekkies, “bouncy”. I thought the film was awesome. It would have been so easy for me to get disappointed – I mean, really, Star Wars: Episodes 1 to 3 (plus the 3D Clone Wars) and The X-Files 2 showed me how you can never go home again. And yet, even if Abrams could have easily screwed this up, he didn’t. At first, I thought it was just me and my zero expectations – and the fact that I wasn’t a fan of the original series anyway. But I found out later that the die-hard fans were just as pleased and bouncy as well.

To be sure, I went and saw it again today – with my parents this time, who were giggling over inside fan jokes that I couldn’t get. They liked it – and I found myself liking it just as much the second time around. I even got teary-eyed during the spiel – what a geek.

I’m not entirely sure how Abrams got it right. It’s not the smartest film in the world, or the wittiest, or the most well-shot. But everything feels “just right” and everything seems to work together. Maybe it’s because of the cast, which I thought was perfect – nobody was over the top, I was already a fan of Karl Urban and he was great, and even Sylar and Harold weren’t Sylar-y and Harold-y at all. And my obligatory nerdy crush is now Chris Pine, which just shows you how effective he was as a charming, swaggering Kirk.

This film means more than just a homage for the older fans – it’s a reset for the new. “This could be the Star Wars of this generation,” said a Trekkie friend, and I agree. If this new cast can bring the young ones into science fiction, the way TNG did for me, I will feel more secure about our children’s future. Less Hannah Montana and more Star Trek. That’s my motto.

Some Star Trek goodies from WIRED: here, here, and here.

3 thoughts on “My Star Trek (no spoilers)

  1. I just watched it this morning. I cannot decide which one of the crew members was the cutest, although I’ve been crushing on Chris Pine since PD2, Karl Urban has been in better films 😛 And I find myself strangely attracted to “Harold” (what the hell’s his real name?), but only for the mad “fencing” skills.

    Best cast member for me is Simon Pegg hands down. Hehehe. Beam me up, Scottie!

  2. Abrams did get it right: he found the right balance of everything, and the movie was successful both as a Trek piece and as a film in general. It’s an excellent gateway for people who have never encountered (or cared for) the franchise, and even adamant Trek-bashers would be hard-pressed to find something to dislike.

    While there’s every risk that this film may have set the bar rather high for the next two in the works, I’m confident that they’ll do well. Abrams, Orci and Kurtzman are armed with their experiences from television, after all, and that’s about as creatively challenging a production environment as can be in terms of satisfying both the producing establishment and the viewing public.

    I’m glad you liked the film. 🙂

  3. K says:

    di ako fan ng star trek and i never once finished an episode haha PERO EWAN KO NGA DIN EH SOBRA AKONG NAG-ENJOY SA FILM! as in ang saya nya lang talaga! para akong bata in awe and wonder of space haha.

Leave a Reply

