Around the web

Last week, I wrote my first “serious” article for the Boomzap developer blog, on how to work from anywhere. I wrote it while working from my favorite coffee shop, and snuck a picture of my table while doing it:

(Points if you can figure out what I'm eating/drinking)

A few days later, I wrote a quickie article for my friend Joelle who wanted to know where I liked to hang out in Singapore. Actually, it was more of a rushed e-mail than an article – but she went and published it anyway, on the Globe website. There is an embarrassing picture of me with my hair blowing wild under the Merlion, which she found on my Flickr.

And somewhere around this time, I was asked by the university to submit what they call “copies of scholarly output” – upon which I looked at my 60+ written articles for Casual Review and wished they were scholarlier. I haven’t written anything longer than a page in years (my NaNoWriMo novels not included, as they weren’t serious anyway) and I’m wondering if I should just sit down and do it, so I’ll have something respectable to show.

4 thoughts on “Around the web

  1. Seems your writing has been around.

    Lovely articles. They are all good reads.

    I hate not having visited Singapore whilst I was still living in the Philippines. Now, it’s too far and price-y.

  2. Now that you’re considering the act of writing at length again, I’m sure you’ll come up with something in relatively short order. I’ve always recognized you as a writer, ever since we first got to talking. It’s in your vibe.

    There’s a certain rush to being, well, writerly. Tap into that rush again, and you’ll feel great. ๐Ÿ™‚ My own recent travails with getting back into the writing groove have been testy at best, but I’m glad to be soldiering on again. Give it a try!

  3. moongirl says:

    Simon: You totally should! Or time it with a gig of an artist you haven’t seen. (Course, you’ve seen plenty.)

    Dante: “Considering” is a good word – I don’t have enough reason to do it just yet. I talk like a writer, really? ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

