Selling my Panasonic Lumix FZ7 camera

I’m selling my three-year old Panasonic Lumix FZ7 camera.

Lumix 3

It’s a 6 megapixel prosumer – in between a point and shoot and a DSLR, both in size and function. It’s got manual controls (shutter, aperture) but I never really used them; the automatic settings (aperture-priority, shutter-priority, scene settings) were more than enough for me.

I’m selling it because I want a smaller cam (this makes people laugh, that I am _downgrading_) – but really, I’ll be traveling a lot, and I want a cam I can fit into my pocket. The FZ7 isn’t big though – just not pocket-sized.

A serious technical review can be found here. But here’s how I experienced this camera. The things I love most about it are:

  • A great OS – everything is ridiculously easy to use. Histograms, custom white balance, self-timer, etc – everything is a click away. It can be as simple or as powerful as you’d like it
  • The optical (not digital) zoom is 12X – super useful for concerts
  • Great video and sound, surprising for a still cam – also useful for concerts
  • The Hi-Sensitivity mode ramps up your ISO for low-light – useful for gigs or fast-moving toddlers
  • It feels good in my hands – there’s a stability in cupping a lens that I will miss when I move to a point-and-shoot

The things I didn’t like about it are:

  • Almost impossible to shoot in really low light – but I suppose you get that with any camera
  • It doesn’t fit into my pocket. Hah.

I’m selling it for P10,000. The package includes:

  • The camera
  • Battery charger
  • Lens hood (to shield the lens from the sun)
  • Lens adapter (you screw it onto the camera so you can attach lenses)
  • UV lens filter (to remove UV light)

Everything is in pristine condition, though you should probably clean the outside of the camera – it’s been everywhere. (I’d do it myself, but knowing me, I’ll go ruin something.) Its value in the market, used, is P10 to P13K; you could probably get a brand-new one for P15K, but if you are reading this you are probably my friend and want to support me šŸ™‚

Here are some of the pics I’ve taken w/ this camera (usually just on automatic mode). Click on the links for individual pictures. Or check out my Flickr photostream here.

PLACESFZ7 pics - places1. Entalula, 2. The Small Lagoon, 3. Banga-an rice terraces, 4. Sunset 1, 5. Reflected Sunset 2

PEOPLE

FZ7 - People
1. Razorback 9, 2. Street Performer 3, 3. Joon, 4. I like my soup!, 5. Chochukmo (Hong Kong), 6. Joon and Statue

OTHERS

FZ7 - Others1. Cat, 2. Seahorse, 3. Sleepy Botchok 5, 4. Sleepy Botchok 13, 5. Toys, 6. Spiral

If you are interested, please e-mail me at deathcabcutie, on gmail. If no one is interested, I’ll just keep the camera šŸ˜€ Thanks for reading!

10 thoughts on “Selling my Panasonic Lumix FZ7 camera

  1. Jay Jay says:

    Hehehe.. Welcome.. But u do have it.. I actually like the pics of the guys singing.. The one with glasses is superb.. Including the guitarist by the way..

    One more is the guy skating! Nice shot! Although it would be better to see his entire body! Anyways.. great shot!

  2. moongirl says:

    You mean this one, right?

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/lunacruz/3434149285/

    Yeah, my problem is I don’t have the patience to wait around for shots, so I end up taking numerous shots and not thinking about them, and maybe ONE is worth posting. I like this shot a lot, too, but if I were a true photographer, I’d have stood farther and really waited for something like this to happen.

    Except I’m tamad šŸ˜€

    Thanks, Jay Jay! šŸ™‚

  3. DC says:

    Hi, me too thinking of get rid of my Panasonic FZ7 but looking at your pictures I feel if someone know how to take photo, camera model can’t stop them…….BTW how is the UV fileter performance? I am now thinking of purchase one UV filter for my FZ7 in stead !!!

  4. moongirl says:

    Hi DC,

    Thanks! Why are you thinking of selling your FZ7? It’s a really good camera, and I actually miss mine (I’ve sold it already). If it weren’t for the size, I’d have kept it.

    The UV filter was all right; in truth I didn’t really notice that much of a difference. I used to use both that and the sun hood, but carrying everything around (those two + the lens converter) turned out to be too bulky for me, so I left them at home most of the time.

    If you’re planning a lot of outdoor photography, though, the UV filter will probably be quite useful šŸ™‚

  5. DC says:

    Thanks for the info…I liked the sprial and other night photos, actually I was quite satisfied with FZ7 too but sometimes just thinking of going for D-SLR, but the size and weight prevent me like the time when I bought the FZ7…….BTW, what is the UV / Polarized filter size you used to use in FZ7 ? I am thinking of buying one but really don’t know which sizeI ask for and I can see there are threads at the camera frame itself, can’t a filter screwed there by itself……then I can avoid lens adapter, I think?

  6. moongirl says:

    DC: Hmm, unfortunately I don’t remember the size that I got, but it definitely needed an adapter. I thought the FZ7 really didn’t allow additional lenses to be screwed in?

Leave a Reply

